Peanut Butter Chocolate Tweet Cups

PBCupsOne612sb

When I was in my overweight days, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups were one of my psycho foods that made me eat until I was sick or finished the whole packet whichever was first. Oi vey!

There was something about the combination of PB and Chocolate that just had me all a twitter. It was the flavour I used to pick too at Baskin Robbins ice-cream place too, when I used to eat that; however one little scoop of all that richness and I already felt sick, so I didn’t need to eat lots of that. Ha ha.

Luckily though I worked out that the key problem ingredient causing all of my out of control eating was sugar. Once you take that out of the mix and replace it with something less ‘psycho inducing’, you can still enjoy all the chocolatey, buttery goodness and stop at one or two. Hooray for health food! I love it.

So this week’s recipe is by special request from my friend Lisa. We used to work together and I would bring in these mini delights to my taste testers to see if they were as taste bud exploding and eye bulgingly good as I thought they were. Seems they are!

Interestingly they have nearly the same ingredients as my PB Tweet Slice and it’s just an easier way to put it all together. And you know how much I love EASY!

So here goes, one of the easiest melt and mix recipes you will find…

In pictures first, then full recipe down below.

PBCupsPBmix612sb

So make the filling first just mixing the Peanut Butter, protein powder and rice malt syrup into a sticky ball.

PBCupsPaste612sb

Then spoon teaspoons full of the mix into cup cake papers.

PBCups3nuts612sb

At this point I also add a few macadamia nuts and raisins but this step is entirely optional. I just like a bit of crunch.

PBCupsMelting612sb

Then to your chocolate – melt the coconut oil and cacao butter over low heat. You just want to melt it, not to cook it at all. (It looks like butter here and actually I wonder how it would taste with butter in it? Maybe another experiment for me?)

PBCups4Chocbowl612sb

Then take it off the heat and stir in all the rest of the ingredients. It looks lumpy because I use crunchy peanut butter but that’s just the way I like it!

PBCups5Choc612sbThen put a tablespoon full of the chocolate over the top of the PB/nutty mix and chilli in the fridge until they harden.

PBCupsOne612sb And there you have it, the most amazing chewy PB Cups on the planet! Yum, I want some now.

Recipe…

Peanut Butter Filling

2 TBS vanilla protein powder

1 TBS crunchy peanut butter

2 TBS rice malt syrup

Mix until a sticky ball. Place tsp full in cup cake papers.

Chocolate Tweet Mix

¼ cup coconut oil

1 inch x 1 inch square of cacao butter

1 TBS raw cacao powder

2 TBS rice malt syrup

1 TBS tahini

1 TBS Peanut Butter

Pinch of Pink Himalayan Rock Salt

Melt cacao butter and coconut oil on very low heat or in a double boiler if you have a gas stove. Take off heat and mix in the rest of the ingredients.

Spoon into cup cake papers over the PB mix.

Chill in fridge.

(NB: to really knock your socks off, add chopped macadamia nuts and raisins into the cupcake papers as well before covering in chocolate.)

Now just a note about the ingredients.

All the following I currently buy at Coles in the Health Food aisle…

Rice Malt Syrup – my sweetener of choice these days, made by Pure Harvest.

TahiniMayvers Brand

PBSanatarium Brand all nuts, no additives

Coconut OilMelrose Brand

The following are from a health food store:

Raw Cacao powderLoving Earth or Power Superfoods brands

Sunwarrior Vanilla Protein powder – this one is from sprouted rice and sweetened with stevia – it tastes great, is low carb and avoids the excess dairy from those made from whey powder.

PBCupsProtein612sb

Raw Cacao butterPower Superfoods or Loving Earth (this is expensive and if you don’t have any or don’t want to buy it, you actually can still make this recipe and just add a bit more coconut oil. It changes the flavour slightly but it’s better than missing out altogether!)

Any of the health stores like Mrs Flannery’s, Wray Organic, The Health Food Shop, Healthy Life or Go Vita will have it.

Enjoy! You will be glad you did! (Thanks for the request Lisa, Lisa!)

Love to hear if you make them.

 

Kristy xxx

(Slim birdy original recipe created: 17 June 2011)

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Tweet Cups

  1. Pingback: Christmas Treats – Planning to Splurge or Stay on Track? | Habits for Wellbeing - Leadership and Executive Coaching for Professional and Personal Growth

  2. Pingback: Coco Loco Protein Shake | slim birdy

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Protein Balls | Slim birdy

Leave a Reply

