Orange Cupcakes

My partner loves cupcakes and being the nice fiancé that I am, even though I won’t eat cake with sugar and flour in it, I make what he likes. I tried different recipes, often from the 4-ingredient crew because as you know, I can’t be bothered if it is any more difficult than that.

However strange things started to happen to him too after sugar consumption – feeling wired, scatty and irritated and while he loved the taste of it, the after effects became too much to bear. And this was just after eating one or two of them.

So after Sesame Snaps were such a hit in our household, I decided to conduct an experiment. Using my Orange Cake recipe, I made them into cupcakes subbing the ground almonds for normal self-raising flour. (Almonds or any nuts really are too heavy for his stomach – so isn’t it funny, where flour and grain products do strange things to me and I eat nut paste from the jar, he is the opposite!) And so the cupcakes worked a treat and again were a winner. The icing also helped!

It was rice malt syrup to the rescue again in both parts of the recipe, just to make it sweet enough. Interestingly I was reading a facebook post where they were talking about which sweetener people use and why and the theme was mostly around the level of processing, the less being better. Even my favourite stevia was getting a bashing.

My take on it is to use the one that makes you feel the best. Everyone touts honey as being a healthy sweetener however for me it acts the same as refined sugar – makes me wired and feel weird, not to mention eat the whole batch of whatever is in front of me. Stevia, Rice Malt Syrup and organic maple syrup don’t do any of that and enable me to enjoy my food, eat sensible portions and keep my weight where I want it to be and that’s good enough for me.

cupcakesorange612sb

Now to healthy party cake time!

What’s in it…

Orange Cakey part

½ cup butter, melted

1 cup self raising flour (or whole almonds ground)

3 eggs

¼ cup organic maple syrup

2 oranges

1 tsp baking soda

Frosting

½ cup cream cheese, softened

¼ cup butter, softened

2 TBS rice malt syrup

2 TBS orange juice

How you do it…

Cakey part…

Whizz almonds first in food processor to make almond flour.

Grate zest of both oranges.

Squeeze juice of both oranges.

Add all ingredients and whiz until all well combined.

Spoon into greased cupcake papers.

Bake at 180 degrees C for 25 mins.

Allow to cool.

Frosting part…

Mix all ingredients together almost whisking to smooth out any lumps.

Spoon or pipe on cupcakes and refrigerate.

Enjoy!

 

Find the rest of my published recipes under the Recipe tab here.

Kristy xxx

(Original Slim Birdy recipe created 20 April, 2012)

4 thoughts on “Orange Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Jump for Almond Joy! | slim birdy

Leave a Reply

