Low Carb Cheesy Chips

low carb, snacks, savoury, weight loss,

More people have asked me about savoury snack ideas as I do make a lot of sweet stuff – my personal preference. I seem to enjoy the sweeter stuff more in terms of feeling satisfied more quickly, I guess because my version of sweet is less sweet than commercial products and higher in good fats, which is maybe why it hits the spot for me better. Who knows?

All I do know is what my body likes and I can tell when I may have had too much sweet, it clearly gives the signal – time for some savoury/salty stuff now. So it’s good to have some options up your sleeve.

I have posted this delight on Facebook before but I wanted to get it on the blog too. Fitting in with my ‘easy as all get up’ theme – the easier the cooking the more I like it!

At the moment too I am experimenting with seed crackers and I am up to batch three. They are getting there and while my cooking buddy at my part-time day job has perfected her batch from a great easy recipe, I wanted mine to be seeds only for those nut allergy/intolerant peeps and while my batch number 3 tasted close to her rosemary/sea salt batch of loveliness, mine were close but not as good. So I have one more trick to try to bring them up to the ‘blow you away’ factor and then I will publish it too. So stay tuned, in the mean time, let’s get cheesy…

Low Carb Cheesy Chips (Makes about 12)

Handful of grated cheddar cheese

Handful of grated parmesan

How you do it…

Toss together

Put little piles on a tray coated with alfoil and space out giving room to spread

snacks, savoury snacks, easy snacks, weight loss, healthy

Cook for 10 mins on 200C ( 390F)

Ensure they brown a little

Pull out of oven and allow to cool before you pull them off the foil

Apparently they last a few days in an airtight container.

So this one is a little temperamental like the Sesame Seed Snaps in that if you undercook it, then it becomes chewy rather than crunchy. If you leave it in a smidge too long, then it burns and tastes yuk.

So at the 10 minute mark, watch carefully and make sure they are the right level of ‘just browned enough.’ And leave in a few minutes longer if necessary.

Choose the best quality cheese you can afford with the least preservatives and additives. It makes a world of difference.

The flavour of these is so intense and rich but it is real food at the same time and not a crap load of chemicals, so one or two should satisfy the craving.

You can eat them as is or top with smoked salmon, cream cheese and dill and even a tomato-ey salsa would be nice, or cool Indian raita (cucumber dip.) Love to hear what you would put on your cheesy chips.

Crunch, crunch.

 

Kristy xxx

3 thoughts on “Low Carb Cheesy Chips

  1. Pingback: In search of savoury crackers… | slim birdy

  2. Pingback: Eat all night long… and still lose weight. | slim birdy

  3. Pingback: Party Snacks | slim birdy

Leave a Reply

