Jump for Almond Joy!

I was given an opportunity by the lovely people at nuts.com to explore the world of Almonds. And since I already use them in some of my cooking, this was a fun exercise to learn a little more and experiment with my cooking creations.

So you already know I’m quite mad about nuts as they pack quite a nutritional punch and Almonds are no exception. A quick look around about them claims they are high in biotin and Vit E and also have manganese, copper, Vit B2, phosphorus and magnesium. Also high in protein and good fats. Apparently they are good for helping diabetes, heart health, improve blood fats, weight loss and seem to be quite the miracle food. However you know me by now and unless eating them makes me feel good, I don’t necessarily believe all that’s written.

For example the piece I was reading claimed leaving the skins on increased flavonoids, then other things I have read claim that nuts should be soaked and sprouted and definitely skins removed before eating as they have Phytic Acid in them which binds to minerals rendering them unable to be absorbed. Another piece mentioned that they are high in Omega 6 oils and that’s not a good thing and someone else says, all the good stuff in the whole nut outweighs that issue.

Confusing? You betcha.

However I read this information and just think, well thanks for all of that, however I am still just going to do what feels good to me and for the small amount I eat in a cookie, an occasional piece of cake or spoon of almond butter – It’s all feeling pretty darn good – thanks very much!

My husband on the other hand can’t tolerate nuts at all; too heavy for his digestive system. So you do what feels right to you.

Now on to some recipes!

So depending on how busy your life is you may be into buying raw nuts and roasting and grinding them into butter yourself, or grinding raw nuts into almond flour or if you are pressed for time often like me, then buying the nuts as butter or almond flour already may be the go. Totally your choice and luckily the good folk at nuts.com offer it all and many more almond options in fact that will make your head spin.

So you may have already seen my Toasty Almond Fudge where I ground the nuts myself. But totally can be made with Almond Butter instead.

healthy, slim birdy, weightloss, snacks, fudge

Also my Orange Cupcakes use almond flour. I still can’t get over how the cake still tastes spongy when there is not a speck of grain in sight and it is all nuts. But it does and is absolutely delicious!

cupcakesorange612sb

Then just this week I made Roasted Almond and Macadamia Butter. Talk about a taste sensation!

macaalmondbutter

Roasted A & M Butter

1 cup almonds toasted
1 cup macadamia nuts toasted
¼ cup coconut oil
pinch of Himalayan rock salt

Grind the nuts and salt first in a food processor for about 3 mins, stop and scrape down the sides and go again until fine and paste like.

Add the oil – perhaps a little more or less depending on the consistency you like and whiz again.

The taste is just awesome.

Inspired by this I wanted to add chocolate to it of course and so I did:-

Lovebites1A & M Choc Love Bites

Base

2 TBS A & M Butter
2 TBS vanilla protein powder                                                                                                                        1 TBS rice malt syrup
1 TBS coconut oil

Mix together in a bowl until it all comes together.

Press tsp full into silicon molds. Refrigerate until the chocolate is ready.

Chocolate

¼ cup coconut oil
1 inch x 1 inch square of cacao butter
1 TBS raw cacao powder
2 TBS organic maple syrup
1 TBS tahini
1 TBS A & M Butter
pinch of Himalayan rock salt

Melt cacao butter and coconut oil on very low heat or in a double boiler if you have a gas stove. Take off heat and mix in the rest of the ingredients.

Spoon over the A & M Butter mix and chill in the fridge for a couple of hours until set.

Now I also roasted a couple of extra almonds, used it as a decoration on the final product and it added a bit of extra crunch. Totally optional though.

A cute after dinner sweet treat with a cup of herbal tea.

So how do you use your almonds?
Kristy xxx

One thought on “Jump for Almond Joy!

  1. Pingback: Coco Loco Protein Shake | slim birdy

Leave a Reply

