Peanut Slab

Peanut Slab

I am currently reading another book called Big Fat Lies by David Gillespie and it is awesome.

The basic premise is that sugar and seed oils contribute hugely, massively and in gigantic proportions (did I emphasise that enough??) to our overweight epidemic.

I was nearly going to write about it today however Easter is coming and I didn’t want to spoil it for you. And besides I think everyone will be more receptive to the message after they are feeling sick on commercial chocolate after Easter and we are all wailing, “never again!”

Until next time that is!

So let’s move on to my solution to all of the above by making treats with healthy fats and the least damaging type of sweetener and everyone is happy. Especially your body.

So the start of this recipe is my peanut butter balls and because those are so chewy, I was hoping to create a kind of chocolate brownie type texture using that as the base without having to add a truckload of dates. And while it didn’t work for what I was attempting, this is nice enough to have its own identity.

One of my taste testers said, “it reminds me of that peanut slab bar.” And that’s how it got its name.

So it’s chocolaty, decadent and kind of biscuit crunchy even though it’s raw and even though you keep it in the fridge. I can’t work it out, but I don’t care because it’s another winner!

Peanut Slab

2 TBS vanilla protein powder
2 TBS peanut butter
1 TBS raw cacao powder
1 TBS rice malt syrup
1 TBS coconut oil
¼ cup chopped walnuts

Melt coconut oil.

Mix everything together, throwing in walnuts last.

Press into a paper lined tin and chill in the fridge for about 2 hours.

Makes approx 12 pieces.

Enjoy!

Let me know if you make any special Easter treats.

Sunshine,

 

Kristy xxx

2 thoughts on “Peanut Slab

  1. Pingback: Coco Loco Protein Shake | slim birdy

Leave a Reply

