The cutting out certain foods debate…

Croissant

On social media, a person gave out some advice, which was aimed at those with eating disorders and part of it said…

“…and never leave any type of food out of your diet. Just eat less of it.”

Now I disagree with that sentiment completely because after discovering I was addicted to a few foods, leaving them out of my diet has been one of the most amazing things that has ever happened to me.

I am at the weight I want to be; I can eat like a normal person and never overeat or binge any more, I have a healthy relationship with the rest of the food I do eat, I’m happy to cook now, I can talk about it all and blog about it without food becoming an obsession for me again and life is easy breezy.

So not only was that advice not suitable for me, the complete opposite was true for me.

So I advised the writer of my view and she went on to explain her angle of Anorexia Nervosa sufferers and Orthorexia Nervosa (obsession with eating only healthy foods) where everything gets out of control and this is one of the methods they use to combat the onslaught of this type of condition.

They try to have a healthy relationship with all foods, so nothing becomes a ‘can’t have’ or a fear food where they basically freak out if they eat something they think they shouldn’t. Her theory may indeed work in those cases; I am not an expert so I don’t know. All I know is what I have experienced.

So in my experience, my approach to leaving foods out is far more relaxed.

It’s not that I can’t have it, it’s that I don’t want it.

I want to feel physically fantastic all the time and I have identified the foods that achieve this. The rest I don’t want because they give me headaches, or make me feel tired, give me a pain in the guts, make me overeat or easily put on weight.

It’s all peace, calm and happiness without those foods from where I’m sitting.

There have been times when I have eaten the foods I normally leave out, and after feeling the unpleasant effects again; it just reminds me why I don’t eat it.

No drama.

There is no fear involved, there is no freaking out involved however the solution I discovered for me, works for food addiction, which is a physical issue not the other eating disorders which are psychological in nature. Just as with any addiction, the solution is to not have it any more. They don’t tell alcoholics to keep having a little bit and just try and control it. Sounds silly doesn’t it?

I guess it’s a lesson again in everyone is different and that general advice given out as gospel may in fact be damaging to some people. So just a general word of advice for you guys, I am all for trying things to see if they work for you and the way you know it works, is that you can do it easily, it’s achieving your aims and it feels good to you.

Don’t keep banging away at something that just doesn’t resonate with you, no matter who says you should be doing it. It’s not you, it’s just that the method is wrong. Try something different and keep switching it up until you can say, ‘yeah, this feels good.’ And sometimes this involves leaving whole food groups out. No drama.

Happy, happy, joy, joy.

 

Kristy xxx

Leave a Reply

